Assault Charges in the State of Arizona
Assault in Phoenix and other areas of Arizona is one of those charges that has such a wide definition that it becomes a sort of catch-all for potentially provoking or threatening behavior, as well as actually doing physical harm to someone. Unfortunately, all assault charges in the state are criminalized, regardless of the seriousness of the offense, so if you or a loved one has been arrested and charged, it is very important that you seek out legal counsel as early on in the process as you can. You need an experienced Phoenix assault lawyer on your side to lead you through the confusing legal mumbo jumbo and work to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome, including getting your charges reduced or possibly even dropped altogether.
Types of Arizona Assault Charges
The revised statutes of Arizona criminal law include assault charges that run the gamut – from misdemeanor assault to felony aggravated assault. These statutes even talk about the related charges of threatening and endangerment, but those charges are not technically assault charges.
If you touch someone intending to hurt them, give them insult, or provoke them, this can be considered misdemeanor assault. This kind of misdemeanor assault is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor and carries with it maximum penalties of 30 days in jail and a fine of $500.